President Kiir Reconstitutes State Legislative Assemblies

President Salva Kiir/Courtesy Photo

By Kiden Stela Mandela

President Slava Kiir Mayardit has issued series of Republican Decrees for the Reconstitution and the appointments of Speakers, Deputy Speakers and Members of Parliament for Reconstituted State Legislative Assemblies.

The decrees read on Friday night over the South Sudan Broadcasting Corporation were for the appointment of Speakers, Deputy Speakers and Members of Parliament for four State Legislative Assemblies in; Western Equatoria, Central Equatoria, Lakes and Upper Nile States respectively.

Rt. Hon. Wakila Charles from the Incumbent Transitional Government of National Unity (ITGoNU) was appointed as the Speaker of Western Equatoria State and Simon Sebit Peter from Sudan People’s Liberation Movement –In Opposition (SPLM-IO) as the Deputy Speaker. Appointed in the same decree were also Members of Western Equatoria State Reconstituted Assembly.

Rt. Hon. Peter Wani Elia from SPLM-IO was appointed as the Speaker for Central Equatoria State Reconstituted Assembly and Dr. Salam Alhaji Albdallah Baballah from Suth Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA) as the Deputy Speaker.

In separate decrees, President Salva Kiir also appointed the Deputy Speaker of Reconstituted Lakes State Assembly and the Members of Parliament.

And, for the Reconstituted Assembly for Upper Nile State, Kiir appointed the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker and Members of Parliament.

We will bring you the names of the MPs in our next publication.

Comments are closed.