Western Equatoria State Assembly to start house business

By John Sylivestor Timba

The Western Equatoria State Transitional Legislative Assembly (STLA) is set to start conducting its normal house business after it was and inaugurated by the State Governor Gen. Alfred Futuyo Karaba following reconstitution.

The State assembly is expected to start its work by deliberating on two items that is the inaugural statement of the governor Alfred Futuyo and the assembly Conduct of Business Regulation. With plans under way for the two reports to be tabled to the august house.

Speaking to No.1 Citizen Daily Newspaper via Phone from Yambio on Thursday, Mensa Doboya said lawmakers at the Western Equatoria State Legislative Assemble are now in the process of ratifying the code of business regulation (CBR) which will regulate the work of the STLA

He further said the State august house is now waiting to deliberate the policy Statement of Governor Alfred Futuyo on State Developmental Activities once it’s tabled to the parliament.

Hon Mensa appealed to the former States of Amadi, Maridi, and Tambara to abundant their previous authorities and accept the new regulation of the reconstituted State Assembly yet to be ratified.

Meanwhile in related news development, the MPs representing Mundri West County at the State assembly have expressed disappointment in the formation of the standing specialized committees in State parliament.

Hon. Pasqual Nathanial one of the lawmakers from Mundri West County said the formation of standing specialized committees was not in conformity with the criteria. He said the each were supposed to comprise eight (8) members from all the political parties to the revitalized Agreement Including SPLM/A-IO, SSOA, and the OPP.

Nathanial underlined that some members of the parties were left out from the committee in which he described the formation of the State parliamentary committees as incorrect.

He furthermore stressed that their presence in the Western Equatoria State assembly as Mundri West parliamentary caucus has become more ordinary.

“Completely left out with clear no reasons behind the formation of the specialized committee and their feel pity he said.

According to Nathanial about Nine members in total Four(4) from the ruling SPLM party, three(3) members from the main opposition SPLM/A-IO, one(1) from South Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA)and one more from the Other Political parties  (OPP).

However efforts to reach the Chairperson of organizing committee for the formation of the committees were not immediately successful by press time.

Comments are closed.