MPs vying for EALA seat pay $1,000 fees

Rt. Hon. Speaker of National Legislative Assembly, Jemma Nunu Kumba (Photo courtesy)

By Tereza Jeremiah Chuei

Members of parliament willing to contest for a seat at East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA) are required to pay mandatory $1,000 non-refundable election fee, said the national parliament.

South Sudan has an opportunity until the end of next week to forward the names of nominees to the East Africa Legislative Assembly or the nation will lose the regional slots. 

However, the Clerk did not specify what would happen if the parties fail to raise the mandatory one Thousand United States dollars’ fees for each contending lawmaker.

The Clerk of the Transitional National Legislative Assembly (R-TNLA), Makuc Ngong, in a letter urged the political parties to nominate as a matter of urgency members to EALA for election slated on September 2022.

“By the Rt Hon. Speaker of R-TNLA, I hereby take this opportunity to write to your esteemed political Parties officers to nominate as a matter of urgency members to the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA),” Ngong said in communiqué extended to No.1 Citizen Daily Newspaper.

 “The names of Nominees or your candidates for this election are to be forwarded to the office of the clerk of TNLA not later than September 16th 2022. Each nominee or candidate is required to pay 1000 dollars (only one thousand United States dollars) non-refundable Election fee,” he added.

MP Ngong said this is in accordance with sect 3, of the EALA – Election Act 2011, read together with part II, Regulation 4, 5, 6, and 7 of the TNLA’s conduct of business Regulations, 2011 as amended and cognizant to the letter dated June 1st, 2022 addressed to the President of the Republic of South Sudan.

The office of the clerk of the Transitional National legislative Assembly renews its regards of the highest assurance to all Leaders of the parties Signatories to R-ARCSS of the Republic of South Sudan.

The East Africa Legislative Assembly or EALA is the legislative pillar of the East African Community (EAC).

EAC is composed of seven partner states including Uganda, Kenya, South Sudan, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi and Democratic Republic of Congo.

Comments are closed.