Kiir opens SPLM National Liberation Council conference

By William Madouk Garang

President and Chairman of the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM), Salva Kiir Mayardit inaugurated SPLM National Liberation Council on Friday and urged the participants to endorse replacement of members who died, incapacitated or defected to other political parties.

The SPLM chairman Salva Kiir called upon members of national liberation council to discuss and approve the basic documents of SPLM which are; the code of conduct, disciplinary procedures and the SPLM financial management rules and regulations.

“The NLC needs to approve the replacement of the members of the NLC who died, defected or incapacitated in accordance to the recommendations of the SPLM in the state and the administrative areas” said President Kiir.

“Approve the expansion of the NLC from the nominee list by adding a few members for fair representation of the states and administrative areas in the political bureau” he continued. 

In his opening remarks, President Kiir also asked members to support the expansion of political bureau membership from initial 17 to 35 members by endorsing newly nominated members.

“Approval of the newly nominated political bureau members, to empower the chairman to fill the position of the deputy chairman” he noted.

“To comrades from NLC, I urge you all to support peace so that development can take place; the R-ARCSS has been extended for two more years to enable the implementation of the agreement before the general election” he said.

A document purported to be from the ruling party, SPLM nominated 21 more members to join the political bureau, pending approval by the National Liberation Council.

The list covers national ministers, members of parliament, and other figures from the party’s bigwigs.

President Salva Kiir Mayardit leads the list of the members of the political organ followed by the Vice President, Economic Cluster – Dr James Wani Igga.

Among those nominated also are government’s Chief whip at national parliament, Rebecca Okwaci and the presidential advisor on security affairs, Tut Gatluak, Barnaba Marial Benjamin, the minister of Presidential Affairs.

As well as the minister of environment, Josephine Napwon, Daniel Awet Akot, Kuol Manyang Juuk, Jemma Nunu Kumba, Deng Alor Kuol, and Taban Deng Gai.

The others are: Kosti Manibe Ngai, Rin Tueny Mabor, Benjamin Bol Mel, Margaret Mathiang Deang, Stephen Dhieu Dau, David Yau Yau, Tulio Odongi, Mark Nyipuoch Ubang, Africano Mande, Kuol Athian Mawien, Angelo Ugwaag Arun, Rizik Zackaria Hassan, Mary Apai and Tor Deng Mawien.

Simon Kun Puoch, Nhial Deng Nhial, Margaret Leonardo Itto, Rebecca Nyandeng Mabior, John Koang Nyuon, Awut Deng Achuil, Paul Mayom Akec, Akol Paul Kordit, Abocha Ali Malou.

Comments are closed.