National, News

South Sudan, CAR in visa waiver agreement

By William Madouk

South Sudanese traveling to Central African Republic (CAR) will now not be required to acquire visas, thanks to a visa waiver agreement signed on Saturday.

A similar courtesy will be extended to citizens of Central African Republic as the two countries signed an agreement when President Faustin Touadéra, visited Juba.

Touadéra and Salva Kiir met on Saturday at the state house to establish bilateral ties and deepen diplomatic cooperation in areas of trade and investment.

Speaking to journalists, Cabinet Affairs Minister Dr. Martin Elia Martin said the two countries signed a joint cooperation agreement on trade and investment to promote development between the two countries.

Meanwhile, CAR Minister of Foreign Affairs, Sylvie Valérie BAIPO TEMON said the two leaders have also signed a Memorandum of Understanding in areas of trade and security matrix along the borders.

According to office of the president, the visit of CAR president to South Sudan paves a way for further collaboration between Juba and Bangui.

“They further signed another pact to waive visa requirements for the citizens of the two countries to allow free movement of people in the region,” PPU added in a statement.

Since his appointment in 2016, this is the first trip by President Faustin Archange Touadéra to South Sudan.

South Sudanese citizens had visa-free or visa-on-arrival access to 44 countries and territories as of 2 July 2019. However, this number may have changed since then.

South Sudan passport holders can travel without a visa to the following 18 countries: Barbados, Benin, Botswana, Burundi, Cook Islands, Dominica, Kenya, and Uganda just to mention but few.


Comments are closed.