National, News

Parliamentary committees’ term ends

By Bida Elly David


The terms of specialized committee chairpersons and deputies within the Revitalized Transitional Legislative Assembly (R-TNLA) have officially ended, creating anticipation for their replacements or potential retention.

According to the house order, these positions have a two-year term limit, with the possibility of extension based on performance.

However, as the first week of February marked the expiration of their initial terms, the parliament has yet to address the appointment of new committee leaders. Parliamentary procedures dictate that committee heads must relinquish their roles upon reaching the designated deadline.

Changkouth Bichiock, Chairperson of the Specialized Committee on Finance and Economic Planning, confirmed that they are currently awaiting either their replacement or reappointment upon the parliament’s resumption.

In the meantime, “We continue fulfilling our duties until the new leadership is confirmed.”

Since committee composition reflects a power-sharing arrangement among political parties outlined in the revitalized agreement, Bichiock acknowledged that his potential retention hinges on his party’s decision.

“Committees are allotted to SPLM, SPLM-IO, SSOA, and other political parties. The decision to retain or replace committee members rests entirely with them,” he explained.

Another committee head, John Agany Deng, the chair of the information committee and assembly spokesperson, emphasized that despite the expiration of their terms, current committee heads are authorized to continue their work until new appointments are made.

He assured that this internal transition will not disrupt ongoing parliamentary functions.

Agany suggested the possibility of extensions for current committee heads, highlighting that party evaluations will determine the selection process.

While former heads express openness to potential changes, many hope for reappointment.

“My primary responsibility is as a member of parliament,” Agany asserted. “This constitutional duty remains in effect until the next election”

He emphasizes that party decisions will ultimately determine the new committee leadership, whether through fresh selections or the reinstatement of former heads based on their performance.

Regarding potential party conflicts during the selection process, Agany stressed that merit, not favoritism, will guide the decision-making.

He further reaffirmed that party appointments follow a specific structure, ensuring representation from various parties within each committee leadership.

The final decisions regarding committee appointments will be made upon the official resumption of parliamentary duties.

Comments are closed.